This guide to starting a Connecticut LLC provides step-by–step instructions for filing formation documents and obtaining tax IDs.
Our Top 3 Picks for LLC Formations
Northwest Registered Agent
*Prices above include LLC formation and registered agent service. State fee not included
LLCs are the most popular business structure. This is because they are easy to start, are inexpensive to set up and maintain, and allow owners to have flexibility. The legal form of your LLC creates your business, limits personal liability, gives you tax flexibility, and establishes your business. As you move through this process, you will be guided step-by-step.
Step-by, step Connecticut LLC instructions
Check Name Availability
Your LLC’s legal title may not conflict or be used in conjunction with another registered name. A name search can help you find out if your name is available.
Name Search Connecticut Secretary of state – Commercial Recordings Section Name Reservation Optional Suffix: “(a). Limited liability companies must have the name “limited liability company” or an abbreviation such as “L.L.C.” “Limited”, may be abbreviated by “Ltd.”; “company” may also be abbreviated by “Co .”.”
Place an appointment for a registered agent
Before you are able to file for your Connecticut LLC formation, you will need a Connecticut registered agent. Register agents are the business’ legal appointee who receives notices from the government and lawsuits.
The state law requires that every LLC has a registered representative. The Connecticut Secretary of state – Commercial Recording Division designates the registered agent.
Our registered agent service is reliable and meets this requirement. You get:
- Documents available the same day from our local office at Glastonbury
- Access to state forms online immediately. Please include our address and, if necessary, our signature
- Annual fees start at $89 and go up to $99 in each state. There are no additional charges
Connecticut Certificates of Formation
Fill out the articles of incorporation to establish your limited liability company.
Agency: Connecticut Secretary of state – Commercial Recording Department Form:
Certificate of Organization
Filing Method Mail, fax, . Agency Fee $120 + optional $50 expedite charge Turnaround: ~3-5 business days. $50 expedite cost – 24 hours Law:
2011, Connecticut Code, Chapter 603: Connecticut Limited Liability Company Act
Establish Company Records
Your LLC must keep accurate records and books. Your LLC’s original articles of organization will be the first document you keep. Your LLC will create many other official documents such as:
- Minutes of the meeting
- Operating agreement
- EIN verification letter
- Amendments to and other filings made during the LLC’s lifetime
You must create the Operating Agreement
It is possible to use a template to draft an Operating Agreement. This document will serve as the governing document. It specifies the legalities of the LLC’s operation, such the annual meeting and the procedure for submitting it to creditors. The agreement will then be approved by you at your organizational meeting.
Organise the Organizational Meeting
The first meeting between members of an LLC is called the organizational meeting. In order to hold this meeting, you’ll need your operating agreements and the filed articles. Keep the minutes of this meeting.
Get a federal employer identification number (EIN).
EIN is required if the LLC will have more than one owner or hire employees. EIN is often required to open a bank or other financial account.
Agency: Internal Revenue Service Form:
Filing Method Mail, phone and fax. online. IRS fee $0 Turnaround: Online immediately, or by phone. By fax, it takes 4 business working days. 4-6 weeks by mail Notes: The IRS website cannot be accessed outside of certain hours. Print your EIN before you close the session. Additional guidance is available at IRS Publi 1635: Understanding the EIN.
Connecticut State Tax Identification Nos/Accounts
Connecticut offers a centralized state tax registration form. The Connecticut Tax Registration number will be provided to you. State business taxes include corporation, business entity, sales and use taxes, withholding income tax and motor vehicle fuels tax.
- Send it to:
- State of Connecticut – Department of Revenue Services
Reg-1: Application for business tax registration
Instructions on Form REG-1
IP2006(11),: Getting started in business – Understanding Connecticut taxes
- Filing Method
- Mail, in person or Online
- Check out the licensing and permit fee schedule . A sales tax permit costs $100
- Online, it takes 15-20 days. 2-3 Weeks by post Directly in-person
Consider Electing C-Corp and C-Corptaxation
Your LLC will be subject to passthrough taxation by default. However, most LLCs continue to keep this tax type. Some LLCs are eligible to elect S-Corp or C-Corp Tax Treatment.
- S-Corp can help owner-employees making more than $75,000 a year save on self-employment income taxes.
- C-Corps face double taxation. First, the corporation pays income taxes and then the members pay distribution taxes. C-Corps offer low tax rates on retained earnings, which can be beneficial if you have more than $250,000 in profits per owner.
Get business licenses and permits
It is necessary to obtain the required licenses and permits in order for your business to be legally operated. It’s easy to search for the type of your business and whereabouts using the Small Business Administration Business License & Permit lookup tool.
Connecticut Business License
Connecticut does NOT require licensure as a general business license.
Connecticut does have a local business license but not a state-level license.
To Maintain Your LLC, You Need to File Ongoing Filings
You must file your federal and state taxes returns.
A lot of states also require businesses to file an annual return to maintain good standing before the secretary. You can see the table below to find out if Connecticut LLCs must file an annual return.
Domestic Connecticut Corporation Annual Report:
Agency: Connecticut Secretary of state – Commercial Recording division Filing Method
Agency Fee $150 Due: Annually at the registration anniversary. Law:
Connecticut General States SS33-953.
Penalties: No fee. Not in good standing. Notes:
- Anybody who is authorized may file.