You should consider setting up a business entity if you want to be one of the 133,000 small businesses in New Hampshire. A limited liability company (LLC), protects you from personal liability and prevents you from being held responsible for business obligations. It takes only a few weeks to form a New Hampshire LLC.
This guide will help you to establish your New Hampshire LLC. Continue reading to learn the steps required to establish your company.
Establishing an LLC in New Hampshire is a must before you do.
It can be easier to establish an LLC if you do some research before you file your Certificate.
Check Name Availability
Before you do anything, check if the name you are interested in using for your company’s name is available. You can do this by running a search at the Secretary of State’s website. The name of your new business must be distinct from existing New Hampshire businesses. This helps to reduce confusion for consumers when dealing with companies.
If you find other companies that have similar names to yours, change your name to make it unique. It may take several searches to locate a name, but this will keep your filing from being rejected.
By submitting an Application to Reservation of Name, you can reserve the name that you prefer. This will cost $15. The reservation is valid for 120 days.
Send the completed application to:
Corporation DivisionNH Department. Department of Corporation DivisionNH
107 N. Main Street. Room 204
Concord, NH 03301-9899.
You can also file online to get a faster response.
A registered agent can be hired
A registered agent refers to a person or company that has agreed to act as the official point-of-contact for legal documents. Each LLC must have a registered representative. A registered agent can be an employee or member of the LLC. A registered agent is a New Hampshire resident who has a physical address within the state (the “registered offices”).
Register Your Domain Name
You want to ensure that your business name is available to the SOS. Also, check to see if you can get the catch phrase or business name you are looking for as a domain. Domain names can be purchased online. After you have found the domain name you like, you will need to pay an annual fee. A domain name will cost you anywhere from $0.99 to $49.99 each year. To form an LLC you don’t require a domain name, but one is required to create a website .
Register Your New Hampshire LLC
The Certificate Of Formation can be filed online or by mail to form a New Hampshire LLC. The $100 filing fee ($102 online) is required. You will receive a stamped copy of your certificate within 30 business days. Make checks payable to “State of New Hampshire”.
Please complete the two-page application. You will need to include the name of your LLC, the principal office address, the nature of your LLC’s business, the management structure and the address and name of the registered agent. The application is signed by a member of the company or its manager.
After You Form Your New Hampshire LLC
After you have filed the LLC formation paperwork and received your file-stamped copy of the same, it is time to formalize your company.
Make an Operating Agreement
Operating agreements are documents that outline how the company will function and the roles and contributions of the members. Although it’s not required by law, this document is important for multi-member LLCs to avoid confusion and miscommunication regarding the members’ rights or responsibilities. Keep a copy the operating agreement with the certificate of formation in your company record book.
Register for an Employer Identification Number (EIN).
EINs are required for most LLCs. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) will give you a nine-digit federally assigned number. It is easy to get an EIN.
After you have established an LLC in New Hampshire you will need to file an annual return that confirms any changes in the members, address, or registered agent. The online portal allows you to complete this report. It is due on April 1, each year, regardless of the fiscal year. The report is $100 to file. Reports received after April 1 are subject to a $50 late fee.
Most Frequently Asked Questions
Does New Hampshire’s sales tax apply to LLCs?
New Hampshire is among five states that do not impose sales taxes on goods sold. This means that LLCs in New Hampshire don’t have to collect or track sales tax and file sales tax returns.
What is the cost of opening an LLC in New Hampshire
New Hampshire LLC filings cost $100. Online filings incur a $2 fee in addition to the $100.
Who pays New Hampshire’s business tax?
Businesses with gross incomes of $50,000 and more must pay 7.7% Business Profits tax (BPT) on any income earned from business activities in New Hampshire. The income threshold for taxable periods that end on or after December 31, 2022 is raised to $92,000, and the tax rate is decreased to 7.6%.